Chocolate Cake (in a Microwave)

No weekend is ever truly complete without some sinful chocolate. So, to compliment my pasta as dessert, I decided to try out BBC Good Food Chocolate Cake in a microwave with a bit of my own twist (with my friend Mr. Abhishek, who thinks I did not give him enough credit for baking with me. :D)

You’ll need:

  1. 7 tsps of sunflower oil (+ 1 tsps to grease the pan)
  2. 150g caster sugar (I used Blue Bird caster sugar)
  3. 150g maida 
  4. 3tbsps of cocoa (I used Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa)
  5. 3 tsp of baking powder (Again, used Blue Bird baking powder)
  6. 4 medium sized eggs
  7. 1 tsp vanilla essence (Although, I used a tad bit more because I LOVE vanilla)
  8. Nutella (because, duh)
  9. Dark chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Take two big bowls. One is for the dry ingredients and the other is for the wet ingredients. My sister, Gowri, taught me this the very first time I baked a cake. Baking 101.
  2. In the dry ingredients bowl, add maida, caster sugar, cocoa and baking powder. Mix well with a large spoon. My best friend, Brinda, likes to sieve it but I’m too lazy.
  3. In the wet ingredients bowl, break the eggs and beat them (good bicep workout), add the vanilla essence and sunflower oil. Mix well.
  4. Now, gently pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients bowl. Mix really really well and ensure that there are no lumps in the batter.
  5. Grease a microwave safe bowl or pan with sunflower oil
  6. Let the batter set for about 10 minutes before you transfer it to a microwave safe bowl/pan.
  7. Place the pan in the microwave and let it cook for 7 minutes at 800 watts.
  8. Once done, check with a skewer if the cake has baked. If it comes out clean, that means you’ve done it right!
  9. Transfer the cake to a large plate and let it cool for 10 minutes.
  10. Once cooled, put as much nutella as you’d like on top. Decorate. (I used dark chocolate chips)

Chocolate Cake.jpg

Leave a Reply

